What is the current status of marijuana dispensaries?
We explain each state’s possession limits, so you can safely and legally consume medical marijuana.
There are currently 23 states and DC which allow for legal dispensary of medical marijuana.
Every state has their own laws in regards to the usage limits of users, and the amount of plants that can be grown legally.
Every state has their own possession limits in place.
- Alaska: 1 ounce; 6 plants
- Arizona: 2.5 ounces; 8 – 12 plants
- California: 8 ounces; 6 – 12 plants
- Colorado: 2 ounces; 6 plants
- Connecticut: One-month supply
- DC: 2 ounces
- Delaware: 6 ounces
- Hawaii: 3 ounces; 7 plants
- Illinois: 2.5 ounces
- Maine: 2.5 ounces; 6 plants
- Maryland: 30 day supply
- Massachusetts: 60 day supply
- Michigan: 2.5 ounces
- Minnesota: 30 day supply
- Montana: 1 ounce; 4 plants
- Nevada: 1 ounce; 7 plants
- New Hampshire: 2 ounces
- New Jersey: 2 ounces
- New Mexico: 6 ounces; 16 plants
- New York: 30 day supply
- Oregon: 24 ounces; 24 plants
- Rhode Island: 2.5 ounces; 12 plants
- Vermont: 2 ounces; 9 plants
- Washington: 24 ounces; 15 plants
Many patients do not want to find a marijuana dispensary and will opt to grow their own plants. The amount of plants that can be grown under each state’s law has been listed above. States that do not have a plant amount listed do not allow patients or their caregivers to cultivate their own marijuana.
Certain restrictions may apply to the growing of cannabis.
Arizona, for example, only allows a patient to grow their own plants if he or she lives further than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary. The rule may be overridden in the event that the strain of cannabis a patient needs is not sold or cannot be sourced from a dispensary in the area.
Nevada residents were allowed to grow their own cannabis, but this law has ceased. Patients that started growing prior to July 1, 2013 will be allowed to grow their own cannabis until March 31, 2016.
Cannabis dispensaries in 20 out of 23 states will require all patients to have proof of residency before being allowed medical marijuana usage. Oregon is the only state which had made it clear that they’ll accept residents of other states to use marijuana medically within the state. The law in Illinois does not state whether out of state persons are allowed or disallowed usage of medical marijuana in the state.
Until the law has been clearly written, it’s unknown whether a patient can safely and without legal repercussions utilize medical marijuana in Illinois if they’re not a resident of the state.
The greatest wealth is Health – eat lightly, breathe deeply, live moderately, cultivate cheerfulness, and maintain an interest in life!